## **OFFICERS 2014-2016**

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County **DEAN LOGAN** VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED: **GINA ALCOMENDRAS** Santa Clara County KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County JILL LAVINE Sacramento County MARKIUNN Ventura County KAREN RHEA Kern County MICHAEL VU San Diego County **DAWN ABRAHAMSON\*** 

Fremont City Clerk \* non-voting member ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County CATHY ALLEN DARLING Shasta County

**ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:** 

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area **Riverside Countv** DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bav Area Monterey County LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD: SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County COUNTY CLERK: KAMMI FOOTE Invo County JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County KAREN RHEA Kern County



## CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF \ CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 \* Fax 714-567-7627 E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

March 14, 2016

The Honorable Connie M. Leyva State Capitol, Room 4061 Sacramento, CA 95814

## SB 946 (LEYVA) -SUPPORT

Dear Senator Leyva:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials is pleased to advise you of our support for SB 946, which permits student poll workers to be included in the computation of average daily attendance for schools. Presently, schools are penalized in funding formulas for students serving as poll workers on Election Day. This bill will remove impediments to broader participation by schools by offering an incentive for school administrators to encourage higher rates of participation in the Student Poll Worker programs across the state.

Student poll workers have a participated and contributed to the elections process for more than a decade and their service to their communities has been invaluable. Students have been a source of energy and enthusiasm and have been able to contribute to the operations at the polls particularly in the use of new voting technologies. There is strong evidence that this experience promotes continued civic engagement throughout the life of the students.

Our members are looking forward to expanding their respective student poll worker programs as a result of the passage of this important bill.

We urge passage of SB 946.

• Page 2

Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at <u>scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us</u> or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Monofunk

Scott O. Konopasek Corresponding Secretary California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

 Cc: Senator Ben Allen, Chair, Senate Elections and C.A. Committee Darren Chesin, Chief Consultant, Senate Elections and C.A. Committee Cory Botts, Consultant, Senate Republican Caucus Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee